Brian’s Insights on Fathering Together
The Fathering Together Podcast
Matt Kelley
0:00
-10:39

Matt Kelley

Season 1, Episode 2

Rev. Dr. Matt Kelley is raising three kids in Louisville and doing an amazing job as a Connected Dad.

Matt also heads up our Louisville Chapter. Learn more about the work he’s doing here.


Edited Transcript

Hi everyone, I am here with Matt Kelley, my dear friend, way back when he No. Three years. Our colleagues and I went there I went there. We've been around a while. He is a minister, a social worker and community organizer, jack of all trades down in Louisville, Kentucky, where he's also the father of three amazing kids. And I just wanted to say thanks for being on the connected dad podcast. Thanks for having me. How this works is I've got five questions that you have 10 minutes to answer because they're a little bit thought provoking. You need some time to think about it. And then within the time remaining, I've got a rapid fire section at the end to see if we can hook you up on your knowledge of your children's lives to realize sounds.

I'm not trying to trip you up too hard, but we got history. I gotta give you a little bit of grief. I mean, the timer. Here we go.

Round 1

What is one word that you use to define fatherhood?

Life!

Because it is like I say that because it's so all consuming and takes all of who you are. And yet at the same time, it can be so very life giving and frankly, life transforming. As as a religious person we talked about, you know, being born again, but the only moment I felt was in one moment, like, who I was was over and who I am in that moment was entirely new and was the moment I became adept at everything I was and wanted to prioritize before everything I am is now oriented around this. That is the that is the closest to a sort of born again experience.

What is the biggest challenge you face as a dad in the 21st century?

Oh, boy technology, kids access to it and not just the how do we regulate this the second challenge, but the relational challenge of how to keep lines of communication open about being a safe space to talk about when they encounter weird stuff, or things make them uncomfortable? And so they don't just kind of retreat into that and that be their own space where they list but keeping relationships outside of that.

What is one thing you hope your child remembers about you when they go off to college or leave the home in a good way?

That it's better to be kind than to be right all the time.

Who is someone that inspired you to be a better dad?

I am lucky to know a lot of dads like you and all the the community of bartering together. I'm also in a community, Dad's online that are all in recovery together and we all post a lot of things to encourage each other particularly how our kids are our motivation to stay on the path.

What is one piece of advice that you'd give another dad who's striving to have a deeper relationship with?

That it's a daily endeavor. It's not just about one deep conversation or one bit of quality time. That's good, but it's also the quantity of time you put in and just the small interactions and stuff you do.

Round 2

What is your child's doctor's name?

Doctor Narces.

What is your child's dentist name?

Dr. Breslin.

Who cuts your child's hair?

They go to the same salon my wife does so I do not know the person's name. I know where it is though.

What time did they go to bed and when did they get?

Oh boy, the teenager right now she goes to bed about one or two in the morning but next week when school starts 10 o'clock is going to be our bedtime and we're going to get up around 6:30

Do you know their favorite meals or do they even have?

They're so darn picky? It’s ridiculous. They generally always like it when I make pizza.

Do they have a stuffed animal or a favorite toy? And do you know what his name was?

Yes. So the most reason Jonah had a stuffed dinosaur that it was blue and named blueberry. Both the girls had these little blanket things that had like little stuffed animal head on top. Kate’s was Rafi, Clare’s was I think Lani

I'm assuming you know what grade they're in.

Eight grade, fifth grade and first grade.

Do you know their teachers names?

They got them assigned the other day and I haven't put a face with a name yet so I can't remember the names. But ask me next week.

Do you know their best friend's name?

Yes, Kate has two best friends named Cat and Gracie. Claire has two best friends on our street named Quinn and Ken Lake. Jonah's is a girl named Lana,

Do you know why they call them their best friend?

Let's see Kate's best friends are in the same grade. They're close together on the tennis team and they will play soccer together. Claire’s two best friends are here on our street so they just run around and play together all the time. They did that before the pandemic during the pandemic when it was like, Hey, here's who we can hang out with. Jonah’s is one of the girls from kindergarten class.

Discussion about this podcast

Brian’s Insights on Fathering Together
The Fathering Together Podcast
he Fathering Together podcast highlights dads who are reimagining fatherhood and working to change the systems that keep all of us stuck.